Curriculum Standards & Expectations

  • Homepage
  • >
  • Curriculum Standards & Expectations

Curriculum Standards & Expectations

At the end of 2017, the National Standards were abolished by the Labour Government. The Ministry of Education won’t be replacing National Standards with anything at this stage.

They recommend schools use the Learning Progressions Framework which goes up to curriculum level 5. They describe the learning steps or progressions that students move through when learning reading, writing and maths.  

There are really good descriptions and exemplars for teachers about what to look for when looking at a student’s work.

For more information please click on the links below:

  1. MOE2173-National Curriculum Snapshot Poster